Draft — not yet verified. Details about Changepen on this page are provisional and have not been confirmed against their published materials. This page is excluded from search engines until it is.

COMPARISON

BureauFlow vs Changepen

Both run the practice around your payroll engine rather than replacing it. BureauFlow is free to start, cheaper per user and gives you the commercial picture of your bureau. Changepen is demo-led and paid-only, with a deeper client-facing layer.

Facts checked 7 August 2026 Both sit alongside your payroll software

Neither BureauFlow nor the products on this page calculate payroll or file with HMRC. Both sit alongside the payroll engine you already run. This comparison is about how you run the practice around it — not about which one does your RTI.

AT A GLANCE

The short version

BureauFlow

  • Free forever for up to 50 active payrolls — no trial clock
  • From £19/user/mo, £6 a month cheaper per seat
  • Penny, an AI assistant across your whole book
  • MRR, churn risk, revenue forecasting and peer benchmarking

Changepen

Changepen manages the operation around payroll, not the payroll itself.

  • No free plan — a one-month trial, then from £25/user/mo
  • Demo-led: “we always start with a quick demo”
  • Client portal, helpdesk and white-labelling on the Business plan
  • Structured change capture to replace email instructions
WHY BUREAUS CHOOSE US

Three reasons bureaus pick BureauFlow

Purpose-built as a payroll CRM for UK bureaus — the practice layer, not the payroll engine.

Free to start, and it stays free

Unlimited clients and up to 50 active payrolls at £0, with no card, no trial clock and no onboarding call. You can have your book loaded and your first deadlines tracked in the time it takes to get a demo in the diary.

Ask Penny, don’t go digging

“Which clients are due this week?” in plain English, answered across your whole book. Available on Unlimited and above — no report builder, no export to a spreadsheet to find out what you already half-knew.

The commercials, not just the workflow

MRR, revenue per payroll, capacity and client health on the Bureau plan. Churn-risk scoring, revenue forecasting and peer benchmarking on Enterprise. Most tools in this category tell you what’s late. We also tell you what it’s worth.

SIDE BY SIDE

Feature comparison

Everything below comes from each company’s own published material. Sources are listed at the foot of the page.

Feature BureauFlow Changepen
Category & fit
Calculates payroll / files RTI with HMRC Both products are practice layers, not payroll engines.
Sits alongside your existing payroll software
Works with any payroll engine (Sage, BrightPay, IRIS…)
Built for UK payroll bureaus
Getting started & what it costs
Free plan Free forever, up to 50 active payrolls
Free trial Not needed — the free plan has no time limit One month
Sign up without talking to sales Demo-led — “we always start with a quick demo”
Pricing published on the website All tiers except Enterprise Team and Business published; Enterprise custom
Entry paid plan, per user, billed annually £19/user/mo £25/user/mo (Team)
Unlimited clients Unlimited usage limits on Enterprise
AI
Natural-language assistant across your whole book BureauFlow calls this Penny. Unlimited plan and above Not stated
Bureau commercials
MRR & revenue per payroll Bureau plan and above Not stated
Churn-risk scoring Enterprise plan Not stated
Revenue forecasting Enterprise plan Not stated
Peer benchmarking against other bureaus Enterprise plan Not stated
Client-health insights Bureau plan and above Not stated
Client invoicing & billing Not stated
Running the practice
Client & payroll register Payroll Overviews (Team plan and above)
HMRC deadline tracking & alerts Not stated
Pension declarations Not stated
Payroll checklists Not stated
CSV import & export Not stated
Automated email reminders Unlimited plan and above Not stated
Real-time status across every payroll
Team dashboard & workload view Bureau plan and above Not stated
Capacity & service-delivery insights Bureau plan and above
Data reporting
Audit trail Basic on Free, full on Unlimited and above Full time-stamped audit trail
Cut-off & pay-cycle scheduling Not stated
Workflow & task management Not stated
Prioritised work queue across all payrolls Not stated Not stated
Structured payroll change capture Not stated
Document storage Not stated
Payroll manuals / process documentation Not stated
Client contact directory Not stated
Working with your clients
Client portal for submitting changes Not stated Business plan and above — optional
Client helpdesk / query ticketing Not stated Business plan and above
Two-way client messaging Not stated
White-labelling Planned — Enterprise Business plan and above
Client feedback / reviews Planned — client surveys & NPS Business plan and above
Integrations
Integrations with payroll systems Not stated
API access Not stated Open API; API access on Enterprise
Transparency
Public product roadmap Not stated
Public pricing page

✓ offered · ✕ not offered · “Not stated” means we could not verify it from Changepen’s public materials on 7 August 2026 — it does not mean it is unavailable.

PRICING

What each one costs

BureauFlow

Free £0 forever (unlimited clients, up to 50 active payrolls) · Unlimited £24/user/mo (£19 billed annually) · Bureau £35/user/mo (£29 annually) · Enterprise on application. Prices exclude VAT.

See full pricing

Changepen

Team £25/user/mo billed annually (£35 monthly) · Business £35/user/mo annually (£45 monthly) · Enterprise custom. One-month free trial, no setup fee, support and onboarding included. No free plan.

Both exclude VAT. Changepen figures are from their published pricing page and FAQ.

What that means a year

Entry paid plan, billed annually, excluding VAT — BureauFlow Unlimited at £19 per user per month against Changepen Team at £25.

Team size BureauFlow Changepen
Solo consultant (1 user) £228/yr £300/yr
Small bureau (3 users) £684/yr £900/yr
Growing bureau (5 users) £1,140/yr £1,500/yr

And BureauFlow’s Free plan covers unlimited clients and up to 50 active payrolls at £0 indefinitely — Changepen’s free period is a one-month trial. Compare like for like on the client-facing tier and it’s BureauFlow Bureau (£29) against Changepen Business (£35), though the features in each differ — see the table above.

CREDIT WHERE IT’S DUE

Where Changepen is strong

We’d rather you picked the right tool than the one with the louder page.

  • Their client-facing layer is genuinely deeper than ours. Customer portals, a structured client helpdesk, customer reviews and white-labelling all ship on the Business plan. BureauFlow has no equivalent today.
  • Structured change capture is the heart of their product — replacing email as the channel clients send starters, leavers and salary changes through, with validation and plain-English feedback to the client.
  • They publish a named customer outcome: Martyn Cheney of Cheney Payroll Services says the firm took on 200 additional payrolls without adding staff.
  • They’ve been at this since January 2020, they publish their pricing, and they’re explicit about working alongside Sage, BrightPay, IRIS, Star and Moneysoft rather than replacing them.
HONEST ANSWER

Who each one suits

Choose BureauFlow if…

  • You want to try it properly today, without a sales call or a trial clock
  • You’re a solo consultant or small bureau under 50 active payrolls
  • You want the commercial picture — revenue per payroll, churn risk, forecasting
  • You’d use an AI assistant to answer questions across your book
  • You want a lower per-seat cost as the team grows

Choose Changepen if…

  • Client instructions arriving by email are your single biggest source of risk
  • You want clients submitting changes through a structured, validated portal
  • You need a helpdesk with an audit trail for client payroll queries
  • You want to white-label the client-facing experience under your own brand
  • You need an API and multi-office support at enterprise scale
SWITCHING

Moving to BureauFlow

No migration project, no cutover weekend.

1

Keep your payroll software

Nothing to rip out. BureauFlow runs the practice around whatever engine you already file with, so there’s no parallel run and no cutover weekend.

2

Bring your book across

Import clients and payrolls by CSV, or add them by hand if you’d rather. Deadlines generate themselves once the payrolls are in.

3

Run both for as long as you like

The free tier covers up to 50 active payrolls indefinitely, so you can run BureauFlow alongside your current setup with no clock ticking and no pressure to decide.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Common questions

Do I have to stop using my payroll software?

No. Neither BureauFlow nor Changepen calculates payroll or files with HMRC. Both sit alongside the engine you already run — BrightPay, IRIS, Sage, Staffology, whatever it is. You keep filing exactly as you do now.

Which one is cheaper?

BureauFlow. Our Free plan covers unlimited clients and up to 50 active payrolls at £0 with no time limit; Changepen’s published plans start at £25 per user per month billed annually after a one-month trial. On paid plans we’re £19 per user per month billed annually against their £25 — for a three-person bureau that’s £684 a year versus £900.

Can I try BureauFlow without a demo call?

Yes. Sign up and import your book without speaking to anyone. Changepen state that they always start with a demo.

Does BureauFlow have a client portal like Changepen?

No. Changepen’s Business plan includes customer portals, a client helpdesk and white-labelling, and that client-facing layer is deeper than ours today. If getting clients off email and into a portal is the problem you’re solving, that’s a fair reason to choose them. BureauFlow focuses on the bureau side — deadlines, checklists, and the commercial picture across your book.

What does BureauFlow cost?

Free £0 forever (unlimited clients, up to 50 active payrolls) · Unlimited £24/user/mo (£19 billed annually) · Bureau £35/user/mo (£29 annually) · Enterprise on application. Prices exclude VAT.

How did you put this comparison together?

From publicly available information on each company’s own website, on the date shown at the top of the page. Where their material doesn’t establish something either way, we mark it “Not stated” rather than guessing — so a blank is a gap in our research, not a claim about their product. If we’ve got something wrong, email support@bureauflow.co.uk and we’ll correct it.

How we compiled this

Facts checked: 7 August 2026

Information about Changepen is taken from their own publicly available material and was checked on 7 August 2026. Where their material does not establish something either way, we mark it “Not stated” rather than guessing. Products change — please check with Changepen directly before making a decision.

Sources

Think we’ve got something wrong or out of date? Email us and we’ll correct it. support@bureauflow.co.uk

All product names, trade marks and company names are the property of their respective owners and are used here for identification purposes only. BureauFlow is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by any company named on this page.

Looking at other payroll practice platforms? Compare BureauFlow with Payflow →

Ready to simplify your payroll bureau?

Free forever for individuals. No credit card required.

Get started free